Board of Governors and Committee Structure

Members of the Independent Review Committee (IRC)

Lloyd R. McGinnis, OC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Director, Airport Site Redevelopment
Winnipeg Airports Authority

Lloyd McGinnis has served on the IRC since it was created in 1994 and was appointed as its Chair in September 2006. He has extensive experience in governance, business development and global trade. Dr. McGinnis is a professional engineer and is the director, airport site redevelopment, of the Winnipeg Airports Authority. He was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2003.

Michael G. Thorley
Toronto, Ontario
Retired Lawyer

A member since 1994, Michael Thorley was appointed Vice-Chair of the IRC in September 2006. Mr. Thorley is a retired lawyer and was formerly a partner of Torys LLP, a major international law firm.

Paul K. Bates
Millgrove, Ontario
Academic and Former Investment Industry Executive

Paul Bates has been a member of the IRC since 2014. Mr. Bates is currently a Special Advisor to the President at McMaster University, following almost seven years as Dean at the DeGroote School of Business. Mr. Bates previously served as a commissioner to the Ontario Securities Commission and is a former investment industry senior executive.

Selwyn B. Kossuth
Mississauga, Ontario
Independent financial consultant

Selwyn Kossuth has served on the IRC since 1995. Mr. Kossuth is a former executive director of the Ontario Securities Commission, a past president and chief executive officer of the Investment Funds Institute of Canada, and served as a securities industry consultant and as an adjudicator on disciplinary hearing panels of the Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada.

Charles F. Macfarlane
Toronto, Ontario
Board Director and Former Investment Industry Executive and Regulator

Charles Macfarlane was appointed to the IRC in September 2006. Mr. Macfarlane was the executive director and chief operating officer of the Ontario Securities Commission from 1998 to 2006. He has also served as a senior executive of The Toronto-Dominion Bank, TD Trust and, prior to 1994, of Royal Trust. He currently serves as a director on a number of corporate and not-for-profit boards.

Linda S. Petch
Victoria, British Columbia
President, Petch & Associates Management Consultants Ltd.

Linda Petch was appointed to the IRC in May 2006. She is President of Petch & Associates Management Consultants Ltd., a firm which provides consulting services in governance to the corporate, public and not-for-profit sectors. As an expert in governance, she has had experience with many regulated corporations. She has extensive experience as a corporate director and currently chairs several boards.

Elaine C. Phénix
Montreal, Québec
President, Phénix Capital Inc.

Elaine Phénix has served on the IRC since 1999. She is a financial strategy consultant with business and regulatory experience in Canadian capital markets. She is a former executive vice-president of the Montreal Exchange. Ms Phénix is the President of Phénix Capital Inc. and has extensive experience as a corporate director.

Mary C. Ritchie
Edmonton, Alberta
President, Richford Holdings Ltd.

Mary Ritchie has served on the IRC since 2002. A fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta and the president of Richford Holdings Ltd., Ms Ritchie is a corporate executive who has developed an expertise in corporate governance by serving on boards of directors and chairing audit committees.

Joseph P. Shannon, CM
Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia
President, Atlantic Corp. Ltd.

Joseph Shannon has been a member of the IRC since 1998. Mr. Shannon is President of Atlantic Corp. Ltd. and has had business experience in many regulated industries. He also serves as a director of a number of Canadian corporations and volunteer organizations. He was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 2012.

Invest Now

Purchase investments or speak to an advisor.

Get started >

New ETFs from the leader in income solutions

Learn More >

Award-Winning Investment Management

Read more >